# **Board of Education** Special Board Meeting



# Special Board Meeting Minutes

**Date: April 8th, 2020** 

Location: Keystone Learning Services, 500 E. Sunflower Blvd., Ozawkie, KS 66070

Time: 7:00 p.m. - Call Virtual Meeting to Order

At 7:06 p.m., Sharon Sweeney, Keystone Board President, called the meeting to order. Members present: Scott Gibson, Justin Finley, Kelli Bottorff, Sarah Johnston, Jana Farmer, Ramon Gonzalez and Robin Croxel.

Others present: Linda Chalker, Keystone Clerk of the Board; Dr. Britton Hart, KASB; Marcia Weseman, KASB; Superintendents: Pat Happer, USD 340, Jon Pfau, USD 341 and Steve Lilly, USD 342.

#### Action

#### 1. Special Board Meeting Agenda Approval

Scott Gibson made a motion to approve the Special Board meeting agenda as presented. Ramon Gonzalez seconded and motion carried 8-0.

### 2. Resolution to Approve Staff Payments Through June 30, 2020

After reading aloud the Resolution of the Board Regarding Wage Payments during Emergency School Closing that states staff will be paid through June 30, 2020, because of Covid-19, Jana Farmer made a motion to approve the resolution. Scott Gibson seconded and motion carried 8-0.

#### Action

At 7:11 p.m., Scott Gibson made a motion to go into executive session for 30 minutes, to discuss personnel matters of non-elected personnel exception under the Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA) regarding the executive director search, reconvening at 7:41 p.m. in open session. The executive session included Dr. Hart, Marcia Weseman, Pat Happer, Jon Pfau and Steve Lilly. Sarah Johnston seconded and motion carried 8-0.

At 7:41 p.m. open session resumed.

At 7:44 p.m., Scott Gibson made a motion to go into executive session for 30 minutes, to discuss personnel matters of non-elected personnel exception under the Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA) regarding the executive director search, reconvening at 8:14 p.m. in open session. The executive session included Dr. Hart, Marcia Weseman, Pat Happer, Jon Pfau and Steve Lilly. Sarah Johnston seconded and motion carried 8-0.

At 8:14 p.m. open session resumed.

At 8:15 p.m., Dr. Hart and Marcia Weseman left the meeting.

At 8:16 p.m., Scott Gibson made a motion to go into executive session for 15 minutes, to discuss personnel matters of non-elected personnel exception under the Kansas Open Meetings Act (KOMA) regarding the executive director search, reconvening at 8:31 p.m. in open session. The executive session included Pat Happer, Jon Pfau and Steve Lilly. Sarah Johnston seconded and motion carried 8-0.

At 8:17 p.m., Justin Finley left the meeting.

At 8:31 p.m. open session resumed.

## Adjourn

At 8:32 p.m., the meeting was adjourned.

Sharon Sweeney Linda Chalker
President Clerk of the Board