About Keystone

Keystone Learning Services is recognized as a leader in educational initiatives in Kansas. This is due in large part to the outstanding people we employ.  Our staff is comprised of people who want to help students achieve their dreams, work in a positive environment and appreciate the lifestyle possible in Northeast Kansas.  We strive to employ highly qualified and dedicated staff and we support them in their efforts.

The mission of Keystone Special Education Interlocal is to provide high quality services to students, families and school districts.  We have been recognized as one of the leaders in the state in the areas of Response to Intervention (RtI/MTSS), early childhood special education, and non-categorical service delivery.


Forging educational partnerships through innovation and leadership to provide quality services that produce independent learners.


We deliver high-quality, innovative services using affordable, technology rich, and time responsive methods. We are leaders with respect to all educational issues. We are unified across all Keystone programs and divisions. We maximize service and reduce costs. Through relentless commitment to excellence, Keystone is trusted throughout the region to deliver the best possible educational products and services.


  • Demonstrating respect for students and families
  • Improving student lives through education
  • Developing trust relationships based upon professionalism, collaboration and respect
  • Recruiting highly qualified staff and providing ongoing professional development
  • Providing efficient and centrally located facilities for current and future programs

Keystone Learning Services provides special education support to eight school districts:  Atchison County Community Schools USD 377, Jefferson County North USD 339, Jefferson West USD 340, McLouth USD 342, Oskaloosa USD 341, Perry-Lecompton USD 343, Valley Falls USD 338 and Easton USD 449.  Special education teachers, related service providers, and paraeducators are hired through Keystone.  Keystone also hires special education administrators to assist schools with planning, training, and supervision of special education staff, support staff, encourage collaboration between sped and legal issues, required documentation and reporting, and allocating resources for special education.  Our school districts boundaries cross into Douglas, Jefferson, Leavenworth and Atchison Counties, (most are located in Jefferson County).

In addition to special education services, Keystone also provides other programs and services such as:  Tiny K programs in 6 counties and parts of Douglas and Pottawatomi counties, internet and technology services, comprehensive staff development, Parents as Teachers in 21 school districts, WebKIDSS IEP Consortium, John Dewey Learning Academy, manage KSDE TASN grants, Autism, and Statewide MTSS.